Marcus Hopper Heads South

mhopper

Marcus Hopper averaged 10.5 points and 8.5 rebounds for Holy Cross High School (NY) as a senior before landing at Siena College.

A coaching change following Hopper’s sophomore season forced a pivot in the 6-7 forward’s direction.

After spending a year away from the Men’s Basketball program, Hopper has found a new home in Division II Armstrong State University.

“The feeling of being settled in with a new school and new program is great,” says the Queens, NY product. “But nonetheless, it is a new journey for me.”

Despite limited on-court action during his three years in the MAAC, Hopper plans to utilize his time spent on the Division I level while finishing his collegiate career in Savannah, GA.

“Everything that I have learned at Siena I will carry over to Armstrong so I can make the best out of the opportunity that was presented to me,” says Hopper.

Hopper’s experience has been acknowledged by the Armstrong State coaching staff, as well.

“Coach [Evans Davis] mentioned my role is to be a leader on the team. Coach wants me to use [my experience] to help the team get better in every way possible,” says the former Saint.

The versatile power forward aims to make a splash on the Division II ranks during his final two years of eligibility; “I want to be a Division II All-American,” states a confident Hopper.

The new Pirate has high hopes for the rising program, too; “My goal is to win the Peach Belt [Conference] Championship both years I am here and with the mindset I have coming in, my teammates and I will accomplish that.”

Leave a Reply

