Raising Champions Guard Looks to Show & Prove

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Marquise Moore is going into his senior year with a chip on his shoulder.

M. Wingate
Marquise Moore
The 6’0″ guard is one of the reasons that the Holy Cross Knights from Flushing, NY are seriously considered to be one of the top Catholic Schools in the city. NYCHoops.net caught up with Moore to find out what he’s out to prove this year.

“I just want to win,” said Moore who believes his senior laden team can run with anybody. With his teammates, Anthony Libroia, Eddie Rocigno and Mairega Clarke, the explosive guard says he’s on a mission. “I think we can beat anybody in the Catholic league. I think we have a good shot to win the whole thing.”

Averaging 14 points per game last season, Moore said that he’s ratcheted up the intensity of his game. “I just wanna play every game as if it’s my last,” he said.

Moore said his quest for success began during the recess. “This summer, I’ve been working on getting stronger, quicker… working on my ball-handling and mainly just shooting. I can get to the basket so I’ve got to become a more consistent shooter to improve my game,” he said.

In addition to preparing for the upcoming season, Moore says that’s also on a mission to prove to the schools that have their eye on him that he’s money in the bank.

The Holy Cross Knights are a guard dominated team so it’s sometimes difficult to determine who actually the point guard on the team is. Moore, plays well within the system but wants colleges to see that he’s more than just a lethal scorer. “I can [also] run a team. I can dish the ball and I can shoot. In college I want to be a point guard,” he said.

Moore says that quite a few colleges have shown interest. “Siena, Quinnipiac, Marist, San Francisco, Bryant, Adelphi and a few others [have shown interest],” he said. None have offered as of yet so his year, Moore is looking to show and prove. “I think if I can show that I can run a team and shoot the ball consistently I should get offers [this season],” he said.

Leave a Reply

